The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:47 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
GrubbyZebra wrote:
Very excited to come across this project. I recently bought a TAS Indicator that had a broken bourdon tube (yay $40 real aircraft gauge!) I am pretty confident in how to get the mechanical stuff functional again (although I have to make a new card with the right speeds for the PA24-250), but am lost on the arduino side of it. Do you have a primer (or a site you referenced), or could you make one, explaining how to use and Arduino to drive a servo-actuated gauge?


I really prefer stepper motor x27.168 over any servo. I dont have any needle servo moved. Every needle is a darsonval or stepper motor x27.168, which are used in automotive cockpits.
You can find a lot of info about driving both of them in arduino sites. Just google "arduino servo".. and you get a lot of info.
Servos are very easy to interface, but the movment is not smooth.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:52 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
Radio stack finished :)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Fully working with a2a comanche.
Gtn750 is touch screen, same dimensions like real one. Functional buttons and knobs...

happy with the result!

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:31 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2010 2:12 pm
Posts: 218
Location: Montreal, Canada
What a beaut!!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 13, 2018 8:59 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28475
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
damn that looks awesome! 8) 8) 8)

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 10:35 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm
Posts: 9
Could anyone help in identifying the variable that manages the Fuel Selector switch i.e switching between Main and Tip Tanks? Can't seem to find it anywhere. If I use FSUIPC logging and move the virtual fuel selector it comes up with SPOILER_SET!
Many thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:10 am 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
Hi,
The custom variables you are looking for are:
L:FSelComancheLeftState
L:FSelComancheRightState

0-> off
1-> aux tip tank
2-> main tank


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 4:51 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 12:04 pm
Posts: 9
Thanks Aturo, as always, your help is invaluable! :D Unbelievable work on your cockpit. Makes mine look very sad!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 6:42 am
Posts: 177
Location: East Midlands
I hate you!!

Not really ;) I love it, so jealous right now hehe.

Cannot wait to see the finished version, it's going to be amazing.

Thanks for sharing this mate.

Jim

_________________
Image
Twitch Stream || Twitter Account || Website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 10:15 am 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
Slow but I now have more time to build (and fly the Bonanza :mrgreen: )

I have made the Primer lever, the rudder trim with a mechanical indicator, and working with lights.

I have made some ilumination channels I can swtich on-off and dim individually:
-Radio stack
-Gauges
-panel Grimes
-Ambient light, white and orange.


The grimes are 3d desing, 3d print, sand, paint... with bright orange leds, which can be regulated with knobs.
The ilumination level is battery level dependent. Master bus dependent, to be exact.
If battery is low, you get less ilumination.

Image

Image

Image

First test:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoQvkPBWzUk


Here is a video with ambient light (will be installed in the glareshield), showing the main bus voltage dependant:


I am enjoying a lot with the Bonanza these days. And a little tempted to transform the cockpit to the Bonanza. But I will finish it for the Comanche. Not easy to get or build the Bonanza yoke system. And the Bonanza is not a Bonanza without this yoke system.
And Comanche is really really good :)

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 8:52 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28475
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
That is some awesome work as always, lovely jubbly. The battery sound effect in the maint hanger on the video just adds to the effect hehe :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

cheers,
Lewis

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:46 am 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
Lewis - A2A wrote:
...battery sound effect in the maint hanger on the video just adds to the effect hehe :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


True!! :mrgreen:

One step back two forward.
I sold my bendix king interfaced HSI to a friend... Ok, I am an easy guy. I don't know how to say "no".

So, I got a new (very old) one for me. A collins one, which I like A LOT. Inside is like compare a toy (bendix) with a swiss machine (collins). I hope there is no bendix agents reading this..

And this is the result... Who says a2a stuff can't be use to home cockpits?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tY412JhUY6I

Smooooth....
I am really happy!!


I think I have found a small bug in the comanche hsi (in the a2a one. Mine is perfect, of course 8) ). I think the GS indicator should be in the middle of the scale when there is no ILS signal, to be really hidden.
I looked for old a2a comanche videos and the pointer was in the middle. So I supose it is a bug induced in recents updates. Or perhaps it is only a problem with mine, I don't know.

Arturo.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:27 pm 
Offline
Airman First Class

Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:05 pm
Posts: 64
Testing pieces of panel (3d printed) before ordering an aluminium laser cut one.

Image

Image

I am always learning in the process, and when I find somthing useful, I update some programming etc... So, the process is quite slow, but the end is near :)

Arturo.


Last edited by alioth on Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:29 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 11:06 am
Posts: 461
Location: KMSV
Hi Folks,

Nice looking HSI - I was literally flabbergasted when I found out the RW units are a $10,000.00 instrument...

Regards,
Scott


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group