The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:47 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
This isn't only Comanche specific, and applies to the cherokee and c172 so far as well.

I am to using flyinside in p3d for VR, but I can't "grab" the yoke and manipulate it using the VR controllers. Most of the default aircraft allow me to grab the yoke and use my hand position to control it. For some reason the yoke in the a2a aircraft doesn't appear to be "grab-able", which means I have to use a real world yoke/joystick which is neither appropriate for my VR setup (no desk) nor immersive.

Thanks for all the work - I really don't want to "lose" my a2a aircraft as I am now completely addicted to VR flying and can't countenance going back to a flat screen and trackir to fly.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:57 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
A polite bump to this topic.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:07 pm 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8332
Location: United Kingdom
Hi Sunjunkiesi,

Apologies that this one got overlooked. I'm afraid I'm still a pancake flyer, but I'll flag this one up to Mike Puto in case he's able to help.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:33 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:39 pm
Posts: 846
Location: Inowroclaw/Poland
Unfortunately none of us are using FlyInside for VR anymore and we don't have this kind of fix in our pipeline at the moment, sorry.

_________________
Cheers,
Mike

A2A Simulations | my twitter | my website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 4:53 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
Thanks Mike

In that case, can you tell me how you use the VR controllers (in my case Vive) to operate the yoke and levers in p3d? I can't seem to even get the controllers to show up in p3d without flyinside, much less use them to operate yokes etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:46 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 7:39 pm
Posts: 846
Location: Inowroclaw/Poland
I can only speak for myself, I use hardware, not VR controllers. We'll look at this, but I can't promise anything, as we don't use FlyInside.

_________________
Cheers,
Mike

A2A Simulations | my twitter | my website


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:22 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
OK no worries. I can't begin to imagine using external controllers in VR, it would break the immersion so much. Right now x-plane is the only simulator I use as VR allows proper use of levers, switches and yoke using controllers. Flyinside attempts it in p3d, but the execution is very poor comparatively and doesn't work at all with a2a aircraft. Hence this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:33 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28890
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,
try it with a proper yoke or stick etc, I think you will be surprised how immersive it is to see in VR and hold an actual yoke in your hands. This is how 99% of the sims work and even fly inside sim had to chance things to work this way because of user feedback.

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 3:49 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
Not an option Lewis. For so many reasons, not least of which is that I don't have a desk I can use in my play space. I'm also very used to using the vr controller as a yoke in xplane, which must be the 1% of flight sims that do use controllers to operate vc items. Fumbling around for real world switches, levers etc doesn't fill me with immersion...

I guess what you're saying is that vr isn't fully implemented for p3d or a2a yet, it is thus far a hybrid system. I'll wait for it to catch up, in the meantime, xplane it is!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:05 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28890
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Ahh that's a shame it really is awesome to have a proper tactile feel in VR. I don't believe its a matter of catching up as this is standard VR implementation even in XP almost everyone uses a stick, yoke in VR still so you still get the proper tactile feedback.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 6:17 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
How do you operate the switches and levers?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 5:41 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:07 am
Posts: 1708
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK
2c. P3D and probably FSX, don't recognise VR controllers. They (LM) really need to get on top of this. You can use your mouse to operate buttons and switches but the control you have over your cursor, it's a white, round disc which loses some opacity when it hits a click spot, is a trial. The disc suffers a 'lag' and guiding it to the spot is blinking difficult. It's hard to see what you can do. Isn't that what Flyinside is supposed to do?
Maybe when Lockheed Martin fully integrate VR you'll have better luck.

I realise that this is no help whatsoever. :(

_________________
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 4:28 am 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
Actually Ron , that's a lot of help. It confirms that p3d, and by extension a2a, just got resigned to the scrap heap. Which is a shame. Hopefully they'll up their game at some point soon, I've got a lot of money invested in that platform.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 8:00 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28890
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
For clickspots I just use a mouse, its muscle memory where it is on my desk so that's never an issue, as Ron mentions it can be fiddly sometimes but no more so than VR tracking controllers whacking a desk or losing tracking because they go under the desk etc.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:30 pm 
Offline
Airman

Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2017 10:37 am
Posts: 40
No desk, no problem. I have a seat in the middle of my play area with the pedals in front of me, giving me full access to the entire VC. Just can't imagine going back to using a mouse to operate the throttle when I can just reach out and touch the actual throttle and adjust it.

Like I say, it's a shame, but p3d is kind of being left in the dust here. I wish they just upped there game a little.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group