Trying Out A2A

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
Zentiger
Airman

Trying Out A2A

Post by Zentiger »

Appreciate some advice. I am new to P3D from FSX and also more of a sim "hacker" - although I have some real flight time in 172. I am trying to decide which of the A2A GA aircraft would be best for honing my skills; particularly with navigation and landing, etc... I was headed for the Cherokee or the 172- but then saw the new VTail Bonanza. Any recommendations? I really don't want to fight with the plane, like faster than slower, and like newer avionics. Thanks!

CessnaSkypilotN7365W
Senior Airman

Re: Trying Out A2A

Post by CessnaSkypilotN7365W »

I've flown the 182 for years and like it.
Good range, decent speed, climbs good and floats on touchdown once you remember to not pull the throttle all the way out until the tires chirp. :lol:

Alan_A
Senior Master Sergeant

Post by Alan_A »

Have a look at the Comanche as well - similar profile and mission to the Bonanza, but rock solid, feels like flying a transport. It's a 1959 model, but if you like modern avionics you can fit out out with the Garmin GTN 650/750 package from Flight1 - an additional purchase but well worth it.

The Bonanza is wonderful and includes some features that haven't yet (and may not) migrate to the rest of the fleet (imperfect/aging gauges, windshield rain, ability to visit the maintenance hangar without automatically triggering an inspection) but it's a busy airplane. I'm not finding it as murderous as some others have (I've got good controllers, which helps) but you'd best not turn your back on it.

My favorite A2A GA remains the Cherokee - there's just something about it, a "you are there" quality that's wonderful, but hard to explain. But if you're looking for faster, the Cherokee isn't your ride.

Hope this helps.
"Ah, Paula, they are firing at me!" -- Saint-Exupery

rhenson529
Senior Airman

Post by rhenson529 »