The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:33 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Hi all, a few months ago I purchased an aircraft for use in FSX SE, I will not post the company name here, but will name it in a PM if anyone on this forum feels they may know of a solution to my problem. The system requirements required either FSX with SP1 or Accelleration. If I understand correctly, FSX SE meets those requirements. The continuing issue I encounter is the aircrafts reaction to control input, namely the rudder. I have been communicating with support to attempt to remedy the situation, but we are not in front of the problem. I have been told this, “when it comes to steering, and in fact there are only limited options when choosing code variables and contact point settings.” I’m not sure I understand this comment. Although different coding systems may or could be used by different companies, it would seem to be reasonable to assume that coding or contact points are sim platform specific in what would be required. Perhaps my assumption is totally wrong, I know nothing about coding or contact points. What really confuses me is that A2A has provided the same aircraft to its customers and it does not exhibit any of the issues I am experiencing with the other company’s version. I just find it very odd and frustrating, especially when this company charges a price comparable to what one would expect to pay for a study level aircraft, even though it’s not advertised as such. So, if anyone out there would care to know more I would give more info in a PM regarding the company and aircraft. I’m only looking for a solution and not a means to attack another developer or bash them in any way. I simply would notify them that the issue no longer is a problem. If this is all the further I can take this here, then thanks much for allowing me to vent.

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:10 pm 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28903
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
You havnt really told the issue at hand, if you let the community know the issue it might be a common issue easy enough to fix.

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:34 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Wales
If it's an A2A aircraft you are having problems with, then you are quite entitled to seek advice about it here, on these forums. If it's not and more of a general siming thing then answers will vary, depending on how technical it is.

Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 2:22 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2014 7:07 pm
Posts: 570
Location: US
What is the aircraft? Maybe others are having the same problems.

_________________
Image

AviationAtWar on Youtube


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:57 pm 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:38 am
Posts: 483
Location: Bonham, Texas
If this is an Aerosoft product, if the purchase page does not specify FSX:SE compatibility then it will not run on FSX:SE. They say this information is in red text on their site but I have been unable to find it.

Some other vendors may be similar.

Hook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:52 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Well here’s the issue, Flight Replica Super Cub Ultra. My problem is the tail wheeled aircrafts, floats......no issues. When I try to taxi, adding power in small increments, and use the rudder to turn left or right, centering the rudder after the turn starts, and of course adjusting power as well, the plane just continues the turn in the direction that was initiated. The only thing I can do is use opposite rudder and differential braking, along with some added power to get it to stop turning. But then it just keeps turning in the direction of the correction. Actually, to taxi, I have to use power and differential braking to get anywhere and just leave the rudder alone.

I’ve been going through support with them and they are trying, but after several uninstalls and reinstalls and even being sent a new software install package, no joy. My computer meets their necessary requirements too. I have CH Yoke and Pedals, using Windows 10 and FSX SE.

I’m not having problems with my A2A 172, 182, Piper J3 or Comanche. Milviz Beaver works fine too. So I don’t know what to think here.

The reason I initially left this detail out was I didn’t want it to sound like I was bashing another developer. That’s why I stated I would be glad to do a PM. Just seeing if I can get this sorted out. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for the replies.

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 10:00 pm 
Offline
A2A Aviation Consultant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 2131
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Go into the aircraft.cfg for the airplane (use a Text or Word editor). Find the section that says "[CONTACT_POINTS]"

Copy that section here in full.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 11:00 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Hey CapFlyer, how's it going. Here is the info you asked for:


[contact_points]
point.0=1, -15.71, 0.0, -0.89, 1800, 0, 0.256, 180.0, 0.03, 1.5, 1.2, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0
point.1=1, 0.96, -2.95, -5.04, 1600, 1, 2.20, 0.0, 0.15, 2.5, 0.58, 0.0, 0.0, 2.0, 0.0, 0.0
point.2=1, 0.96, 2.95, -5.04, 1600, 2, 2.20, 0.0, 0.15, 2.5, 0.58, 0.0, 0.0, 3.0, 0.0, 0.0

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:19 am 
Offline
A2A Aviation Consultant
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:06 pm
Posts: 2131
Location: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
As I suspected.

wblackret wrote:
point.0=1, -15.71, 0.0, -0.89, 1800, 0, 0.256, 180.0, 0.03, 1.5, 1.2, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0


The number in bold is the "pivot angle" for the tailwheel. When set to 180, FSX/P3D takes that to mean that it is a free castoring tailwheel. As such, the only way to steer it is with differential braking and power plus what limited rudder authority you get.

If you want to get direct steering, change that value to 90. It'll still give you significant steering angle, but it'll "engage" the direct steering capability. The only way to allow for the real semi-locked tailwheel to function correctly is through a gauge, and I guess they didn't design one to give the functionality.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:12 am 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Thanks a bunch CAPFlyer, I truly appreciate this. I’ll make the change.

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 3:28 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:38 am
Posts: 483
Location: Bonham, Texas
I suggest something less than 90. I've tried 90 degree tailwheels and it can cause problems, especially trying to start moving when the rudder is at full lock.

Try 75 or so which will give you a very small turning radius.

Hook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:19 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Wales
I usually use 40 or 60.

Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:36 am 
Offline
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2012 1:38 am
Posts: 483
Location: Bonham, Texas
If my trig is correct then setting it to 80 would allow the plane to pivot around one of the front tires. I've found this kind of setting is usually too much to get the plane moving easily from a standing start with the rudder pedals fully deflected. I suspect 75 is too much as well. Setting it to 60 is probably about right, but try a few and see what you prefer.

My usual problem is finding a setting that allows the plane to start moving easily but gives a reasonably small turning radius. The plane I'm flying now needs the rudder centered to start moving, but doesn't have as small a turning radius as I would prefer, even using differential brakes.

The Goose and DC-3 are 79 and 72 approximately, but you can use differential engine power on the twin engines to get the plane to pivot on one wheel.

Hook


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:43 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Wales
I find 60 for the Flight Replica Super Cub Ultra is about right for me. Turns on the ground pretty quick. In P3D v4 too.

Steve

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do Not Understand
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:37 pm 
Offline
Senior Airman
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:12 am
Posts: 149
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
The change in the contact point did the trick CAPFlyer, thanks again, I appreciate the help. And thanks to all that replied, 60 worked the best for me also. Back to flying again! This is such a great forum!

_________________
Image
Image
Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aeugli and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group