The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:33 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:31 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:46 am
Posts: 904
Location: near home of 315 Sqdn, Poland
I've never tried it but when I finally decided to do so I can't fire a single bullet nor change gunner positions even after reading the game manual through and through. I tried with Ju 88 and He 111, numpad 2, 5 and 8, mouse buttons, joystick buttons - nothing, same outcome. Quite frustrating... Can anybody help?

_________________
ULTIMATE FEATURES SUMUP!
Image
Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/4thtx5c
Installation | User Interface | Starting a dynamic Single Pilot Campaign | Takeoff | Free Flight | Inkscape | more!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:06 am 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 6:06 pm
Posts: 1814
:shock: Oh ,you should be able to ,certainly with the Do17 have you tried that?
I did try doing some testing being a gunner and had some ctd's which i did put on the bdg testing forum,
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=16645 if you aren't able to get in the testing bit here's the gist,

":( I have had 2 crashes whilst flying as a gunner in a DO17 in the IA Black Thursday mission.I was changing positions and looking around and also firing the guns,Thanks."
So definitely the Do17 works.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:34 am 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:46 am
Posts: 904
Location: near home of 315 Sqdn, Poland
It's the same with Dornier. I can only look around. The gun does not move nor fire and I can't switch the station.

_________________
ULTIMATE FEATURES SUMUP!
Image
Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/4thtx5c
Installation | User Interface | Starting a dynamic Single Pilot Campaign | Takeoff | Free Flight | Inkscape | more!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:15 am 
Offline
BDG & A2A

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:18 pm
Posts: 5244
Location: Germany, near the Rhine
Are you sure pressing numpad 2, 5 and 8 sends numpad 2, 5 and 8 codes? For example on my laptop there is a "function" key that goes into a "function mode" that changes the behaviour of other keys.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:36 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:46 am
Posts: 904
Location: near home of 315 Sqdn, Poland
I think so, I have a regular keyboard with no fancy functions plus I've tested it in notepad. With NumLock disabled 2 and 8 moves line down/up, whil with NumLock enabled it enters tche "2" or "8" characters.

_________________
ULTIMATE FEATURES SUMUP!
Image
Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/4thtx5c
Installation | User Interface | Starting a dynamic Single Pilot Campaign | Takeoff | Free Flight | Inkscape | more!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:52 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:17 pm
Posts: 8059
Location: Oahu, Hawai'i
In the bdg.txt make sure this line (near the bottom) is ON:

LOCK_GUNNER_VIEW_TO_GUN=ON

_________________
"Life is too short to ride a sorry horse!" my uncle B. Kennedy, Greybull, Wyoming, USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:25 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:46 am
Posts: 904
Location: near home of 315 Sqdn, Poland
I knew the answer before but I just wanted to make sure not to waste your time - changing this option seems to have no influence on the behavior of gunner controls. In Both Cases (Do 17, IA mission - Interceptions) when I enter the mission mouse works as mouselook, the gun does not move and I can't switch between gunner stations (2,5 and 8 on numpad work as regular view keys). When I right-click nothing moves - the gun and camera are both stuck and I can't fire.

Here's my bdg.txt file http://rapidshare.com/files/264816530/bdg.txt if it may be helpful. I more curious what's happening than in need to have this working. Also a guy asked me on YouTube about this and I couldn't answer him.

I do use some weird 2.10 beta build but it only includes SPC random skills functionality (which works perfectly) plus I couldn't get the gunner to shoot with older versions too.

_________________
ULTIMATE FEATURES SUMUP!
Image
Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/4thtx5c
Installation | User Interface | Starting a dynamic Single Pilot Campaign | Takeoff | Free Flight | Inkscape | more!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:33 pm 
Offline
BDG
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:17 pm
Posts: 8059
Location: Oahu, Hawai'i
Quote:
I do use some weird 2.10 beta build but it only includes SPC random skills functionality (which works perfectly) plus I couldn't get the gunner to shoot with older versions too.


Ah! At one point during v2.10 development the bomber gunners were broken as you describe. You may have that test v2.10 version. Fixed now.
It may be 4 weeks until v2.10 is released.
If you want the gunners back, now, you will have to revert back to the v2.09 Installer. I would do a clean out and re-install doing that.
The gunners did work with v2.09.
Maybe just wait for v2.10 to be released, if you are in the middle of a Campaign.

_________________
"Life is too short to ride a sorry horse!" my uncle B. Kennedy, Greybull, Wyoming, USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:19 pm 
Offline
Technical Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:46 am
Posts: 904
Location: near home of 315 Sqdn, Poland
stickman wrote:
Ah! At one point during v2.10 development the bomber gunners were broken as you describe. You may have that test v2.10 version. Fixed now.
It may be 4 weeks until v2.10 is released.
If you want the gunners back, now, you will have to revert back to the v2.09 Installer. I would do a clean out and re-install doing that.
The gunners did work with v2.09.
Maybe just wait for v2.10 to be released, if you are in the middle of a Campaign.

I said that it was the same with 2.09 but it can be that my memory lets me down. Thank you for your reply. No, no, I'm not in the middle of anything. I practically don't play BoB2 for three months for various reasons. Mainly lack of free time. If I reap some time of I prefer to do something for BoB2. I'm currently working on X52 button layout (graphic). It may be ready tomorrow. Next on the list is Landing Video Tutorial which is far more time consuming and may not happen before September.

_________________
ULTIMATE FEATURES SUMUP!
Image
Tutorials http://tinyurl.com/4thtx5c
Installation | User Interface | Starting a dynamic Single Pilot Campaign | Takeoff | Free Flight | Inkscape | more!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group