Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadrant

A place for technical help setting up your Stratocruiser with FSX
new reply
BraselC5048
Airman First Class
Posts: 95
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 18:29

Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadrant

Post by BraselC5048 »

I'm trying to set up reverse throttle to happen when I moved the throttles back past the detent in the CH products throttle quadrant. Of course, I just realized that it's not just an on-off thing, but rather you can increase and decrease reverse throttle. Right now, I can't even seem to get it to reverse in the first place. Manually clicking and dragging the throttles won't get them into reverse, they stop at 0%.

Anybody have some advice?

EDIT: f2 sort of works for reverse throttle, but it's fighting the throttle levers on the quadrant. Is it acceptable to use full reverse throttle (as in, no engine overboost or exceeding power or CHT limitations issues)?

User avatar
Jacques
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2376
Joined: 26 Jun 2011, 17:54
Location: West Coast, USA

Re: Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadr

Post by Jacques »

For some reason, some users experience difficulty when using the f2 key for reverse thrust. In some cases, bringing the airplane to a complete stop, and applying the parking brake, will allow the throttles to move back over the stops. The best thing to do is find a long runway and practice the sequence of keystrokes until it is second nature.

With regards to how much reverse throttle is acceptable? As much as necessary, which I've always found to be not much at all- Reverse pitch is very effective at slowing the airplane down.

Sorry, can't help with the programming part. However, you should be able to find loads of info in these forums, as well as helpful experts.

JP


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3396
Joined: 02 Aug 2008, 17:04
Location: San Francisco

Re: Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadr

Post by Gypsy Baron »

You need to first send 'F1' to get throttles to idle, then a series of 'F2's to
move the throttles back into the reverse pitch range and continuing to
move back on subsequent 'F2's.


To exit, you need to send a series of 'F3's to bring the throttles forward and
once out of reverse pitch you can then take over with normal throttle action.

I have saitek pro throttle quadrants and use the detent switch of one
of the throttles to activate reverse thrust via a small Lua script.

When I move my throttles forward out of the detent, I activate another
Lua script to move the VC throttles out of reverse pitch.

I'm away from my sim computer but I can log in to it and grab those
Lua scripts. You could use then if you have FSUIPC4. If not, they
will at least show you what you should be 'sending'.

I'll add those scripts to this thread once I grab them.

Paul

Image

Gypsy Baron
A2A Master Mechanic
Posts: 3396
Joined: 02 Aug 2008, 17:04
Location: San Francisco

Re: Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadr

Post by Gypsy Baron »

OK, here we are...

This is my "Reverse.lua" scroipt that gets activated by
ne of my throttles going into detent and closing the switch
on the throttle axis. It sends 'F1' then a series of 'F2's.

Code: Select all

i = 0
   ipc.keypress(112)
   ipc.sleep(250)
while i < 14 do
   ipc.keypress(113)
    ipc.keypress(113)
	ipc.keypress(113)
   ipc.sleep(50)
   i = i + 1
end
This is my "exit_reverse.lua" script to exit reverse thrust which gets
activatedwhen the throttle moves out of detent, de-activating the switch.
It sends a series of 'F3's

Code: Select all

i = 0
while i < 15 do
   ipc.keypress(114)
      ipc.sleep(50)
	ipc.keypress(114)
   ipc.sleep(50)
   i = i + 1
end
Hope this helps.

Paul

Image

User avatar
Tailspin45
Staff Sergeant
Posts: 346
Joined: 26 Jun 2013, 13:22
Location: San Diego CA
Contact:

Re: Can't figure out how to map reverse throttle to CH Quadr

Post by Tailspin45 »

Be careful naming the lau files; the names must be 16 characters or less.

B377_reverse_exit.lua isn't recognized by FSUIPC, for example, because it's 17 characters long (plus extension)

new reply

Return to “Boeing 377 Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests