The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Feb 18, 2019 3:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:22 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Hi.
I hope somebody can help. First let me say how much I have enjoyed the last 50 hours of learning to take off, fly and land this superb aircraft "Blondie" Ok landings still a bit bouncy and thank god for the hanger. But when taxing I get sparks and smoke coming from all 3 wheels it is like she is running on flat tyres But the hanger states she's in great shape. Any ideas?
John Caselton (Old John)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:10 am 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1922
John, I can’t promise to help because I don’t feel very tech savvy compared to most on the forum. But, it might help if you disclose which platform you are flying on (eg FSX, FSX-SE, or P3Dv3 or v4)?

Also, does the sparking and smoke occur on all aspects of taxi, before takeoff and after landing as well, or just after landing?

And finally, are you running the latest update of the P-51?

Just to get the process started!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:39 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Hi Jacques.
Thank you for your reply. Platform = P3D v4. The sparking and smoking begins the second I start moving and continues to the second the wheels leave the tarmac. As for updates, I only got this aircraft late November 2018 and I have checked for updates.
John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:15 am 
Offline
A2A Lieutenant Colonel
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2004 11:22 pm
Posts: 28890
Location: Beccles, Suffolk, UK
Hello,

how are you loading the flight?

thanks,
Lewis - A2A

_________________
A2A Facebook for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Youtube because a video can say a thousand screenshots,..
A2A Simulations Twitter for news live to your social media newsfeed
A2A Simulations Community Discord for voice/text chat


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:18 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Hi Lewis.
P3D Menu. Change Aircraft. Change Airport/Location, Time & Season. But I have got P51 at Duxford EGSU set as default. But have tried the other P51s at different locations and the same thing happens with them.
John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:39 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1922
John, are you saying that, from start menu in p3d, you “change vehicle” from a default P3D aircraft to the A2A P51 at Duxford and then select “OK”... and you are not loading a default P3D aircraft at Duxford first?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:42 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Hi.
You aren't going to believe this but the Spitfire is doing exactly the same.
John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:01 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1922
Hi John,

See the post above your latest!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:47 pm 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8332
Location: United Kingdom
Hi John,

Yes, Jacques is probably on to the culprit here. Please can you change your default flight so that it loads one of the default aircraft included with P3Dv4 (e.g. the Maule M7) instead of the P-51.

Changing the default flight to load complex third-party add-ons often causes problems when the sim initialises.

Thanks,
Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:16 am 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Ok.
Tried everything. But even P3D default aircraft have sparking and smoking wheels. Took a closer look at the wheels and realised that they are slightly below the surface. So not an A2A problem. But thanks for your help and suggestions.
John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 8:50 am 
Offline
A2A Captain
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 1:06 pm
Posts: 8332
Location: United Kingdom
Okay, thanks for the update John. In that case, maybe it's a scenery issue, particularly if you're using an add-on airport.

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 2:55 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1922
Just an idea, but have you tried to place your P-51 at somewhere warm and dry to try the taxi test?

I’m just wondering if you are seeing a snow effect, and not sparks and smoke?




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 4:54 pm 
Offline
Airman Basic

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:23 pm
Posts: 9
Hi Jacques.
You've got it. Changed season to Summer and no spaks and smoke. Although there is no snow on the airfield I have got it on real season, so all the surounding scenery is white. So I guess that software thinks there's snow on the airfield. You are a genius I feel like a proper birk. Thank you to you and every body else who has replied.

John


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 5:10 pm 
Offline
Senior Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:54 pm
Posts: 1922
Good stuff! Definitely not a genius, just really happy to erase a “worry” from your A2A experience!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group