P-51 Civilian - Carburettor Icing/Temp at High altitudes

Arguably the finest fighter aircraft of World War II.
hughesj2
Airman

P-51 Civilian - Carburettor Icing/Temp at High altitudes

Post by hughesj2 »

Guys,
Quick question on cold weather/high altitude cruise and carb temperatures...
As an Accusim 17 pilot I'm careful about managing carb temps to prevent icing (and my chief bitchin!)..So my question is for the P-51 is there an optimal carb temp I need to be aiming for (gauge looks like 20-40C green arc?)

So from the manual "Ordinarily you will always use ram air, but, in the event of extreme icing or dust conditions, the carburetor air controls on the left cockpit pedestal allow you to select either un-rammed filtered or, in later airplanes, un-rammed hot air for operation"

Which I have been doing but I noticed my carb temp drifting down towards minus figures, where the OAT was around -40C?

Is that acceptable in clear air?

My natural instinct told me use un-rammed air (with no heat as I was over 12,000ft) which resulted in a carb temp around 12C, slight loss of power and a reduction in fuel consumption, otherwise no ill effects I noticed. Conversely I didn't notice any issues while the engine was running with Freezing carb temperature either?

Regards
James

n72.75
Senior Airman

Re: P-51 Civilian - Carburettor Icing/Temp at High altitudes

Post by n72.75 »

I use the air filter when under 10000 feet. Use carburetor heat if cruising or descending at low power below 12000 feet. Above 10k, the dew-point is so low that carb icing is very unlikely. The only time you would get icing at 35-40k would be in thunderstorm situations.

CodyValkyrie
VIP Partner

Post by CodyValkyrie »