P51D Maintenance Pictures and Info

Arguably the finest fighter aircraft of World War II.
new reply
Slingers
A2A Master Mechanic

P51D Maintenance Pictures and Info

Post by Slingers »

G'Day

I hope everyone is well.

I am very fortunate in that I have been an engineer on Warbirds and Historic aircraft for the last 17 years or so. During this time I have worked on a number of P-51's and owned a P51D project which i was restoring for a while.

After a move from the UK to Australia I have set up an Warbird Maintenance and restoration shop outside Brisbane Queensland.

I have been very interested and flown A2A products since the early days and love the quality of the simulations produced. The accuracy of the aircraft is mind blowing.

I currently have a CAC (Australian licence built) P51D Mustang in for an Annual inspection. I thought it would take the opportunity to offer everyone a bit of an insight to maintaining these fantastic aircraft and allow you all to ask any questions you may have. Also if you wish any close up pictures I will be happy to post them for you if we still have the area exposed. I don't say I am an "expert" on P-51's but I will do my best to answer any questions.

As a start we carried out a few ground runs checking for leaks etc, prior to bring the aircraft in for the annual. These went well, and only found a couple of items we are going to look into. We have update cam's (roller) which with a slight timing change make it sound crackly at idle. I will post some videos later on in the thread if people are interested.

Now the aircraft is fully under its inspection with it stress jacked to enable the removal of the fuel tanks. What i mean is the centre jack takes all the weight, with the tail stand. The 2 wing jacks are only there to balance the wings. The fuel tank panels are stressed and you can't use the wing jacks to take the weight - as the wing may bend which is a bad thing :-)