DME swap key

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
billythebassman
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Jul 2020, 13:53

DME swap key

Post by billythebassman »

I just bought the Bonanza for P3D V4 and really love it--great IFR platform!

My question is this:

How do I assign a HOTAS button to switch from DME 1 to DME 2? I fly exclusively in VR and prefer to have as many frequently used keys mapped to the HOTAS as possible so I don't have to use the mouse during complex IFR maneuvers.

The native P3D control key for this purpose (Shift-E) has no effect in the Bonanza (though it works fine in other planes) and nothing is listed in the Controls Configurator. FSUIPC also lacks a command for this purpose. Surely the mouse is not the only available option for this in a plane of this high quality or is there some way to revive the standard P3D v4 control that I am missing.

Thanks for any help on this.

ROB - A2A
A2A Colonel
Posts: 3647
Joined: 02 Mar 2004, 02:56

Re: DME swap key

Post by ROB - A2A »

Do you want to be able to toggle between N1 and N2 of that DME unit in Bonanza?

regards
ROB
A2A Simulations Inc.

billythebassman
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Jul 2020, 13:53

Re: DME swap key

Post by billythebassman »

Rob,

Thanks for the reply.

Yes, that's the issue I am having.

User avatar
Nick - A2A
A2A Captain
Posts: 13734
Joined: 06 Jun 2014, 13:06
Location: UK

Re: DME swap key

Post by Nick - A2A »

It should be possible to achieve the desired effect with a simple Lua script which writes to the custom "L:DmeMode" local variable (L:Var). For example, with the the script below, the first press of your HOTAS button will switch the DME set on if it's off, and subsequent presses will toggle between N1, HLD, and N2 modes.

Code: Select all

DMEMode = ipc.readLvar("DmeMode")
if DMEMode < 1 then
   ipc.writeLvar('DmeMode', 1)
elseif DMEMode < 2 then
   ipc.writeLvar('DmeMode', 2)
elseif DMEMode < 3 then
   ipc.writeLvar('DmeMode', 3)
else
   ipc.writeLvar('DmeMode', 1)
end
To implement this, you'll need to create a text file containing the above text, rename it with the ".Lua" extension, e.g. "BonanzaDME.lua" and drop it into your "Modules" directory. Then start the host sim, and in FSUIPC assign your HOTAS button to the "Lua BonanzaDME" event which should now be visible in the list of controls on the "Button & Switches" tab.

Hope this helps - please let us know if you have any problem with this method.

Cheers,
Nick
A2A Simulations Inc.

billythebassman
Airman Basic
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Jul 2020, 13:53

Re: DME swap key

Post by billythebassman »

Nick,

Works perfectly!

First rate support from the developers of the best aircraft in flight simulation.

Taking the time to write this script for me is far more than I could expect from anyone except "the best in the business."

I am heartened by the fact that there are still enterprises like A2A for whom service above and beyond is the norm.

A2A is the industry leader for one reason only--they have earned that place.

Thanks again,

Billy

User avatar
Nick - A2A
A2A Captain
Posts: 13734
Joined: 06 Jun 2014, 13:06
Location: UK

Re: DME swap key

Post by Nick - A2A »

Thanks for the update Billy and for the kind words. Glad to hear the script was helpful and welcome to the A2A community!

All the best,
Nick
A2A Simulations Inc.

new reply

Return to “Bonanza Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests