I need help selecting a joystick

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
MkIX
Airman

I need help selecting a joystick

Post by MkIX »

Hi:

I'm new to the world of high end computers and flight simulation. I've recently bought an i5 based desktop with a Gigabyte Z68 motherboard, an AMD Sapphire Radeon HD7850 video card, a copy of MS FSX c/w the Accelerator package, and now I am looking forward to ordering a copy of A2A's Spitfire Sim. Until now I've been learning how to tame FSX using the keyboard as a controller...this practice is not recommended for the long term.

So now its time to invest in a joystick that works well with A2A as opposed to blasting space creatures. My problem is I'm not sure which one to get. I've spent a fair amount of time reading through various threads on this website (thank you to all who share learnings and expertise) and it seems that the high end systems use CH while many others have chosen the Saitek X52 Pro. The Saitek looks a little complex but based on what I've seen here it does the job and it has a dedicated throttle. The CH looks very robust, it specs out nicely, but if I add a separate throttle it is considerably more expensive.

I'd appreciate any guidance and opinions from seasoned A2A pilots. I can get the X52 Pro for about $160, the CH Fighterstick would cost me about $140 for the joystick alone (no separate throttle).

Mike
Last edited by MkIX on 26 Sep 2012, 09:56, edited 1 time in total.

seaniam81
Technical Sergeant

Re: Am about to buy a joystick

Post by seaniam81 »

X52 pro is the way to go.

Bruce Hamilton
Senior Master Sergeant

Re: I need help selecting a joystick

Post by Bruce Hamilton »

MkIX wrote:The CH looks very robust, it specs out nicely, but if I add a separate throttle it is considerably more expensive.