Noob

This is the place where we can all meet and speak about whatever is on the mind.
new reply
needlenoses
Airman Basic

Noob

Post by needlenoses »

First time in here and I am interested in starting from scratch with A2A; but where to begin. I had issues installing MSFS; something about missing DLL files in WIN 10. I was a pilot; I build and fly R/C models; and I enjoy World of Warships on line.

So, any help in getting started would be appreciated.

clarkejw
Senior Airman

Re: Noob

Post by clarkejw »

Well, for a start, if you have MSFS, you are in for a wait. Currently, there is no A2A material for this sim.

wrkempson
Airman First Class

Post by wrkempson »

But there are some things you can do to prepare for the day A2A brings out an aircraft for MSFS. First, learn the simulator. MSFS has its share of quirks and its own way for doing things. You may want to learn how to set the weather, load in a flight plan, use the ATC or navigate in the user interface.

Second, you can perfect your flying skills. The Cessna 172 is close enough to the A2A version that you can learn switches and levers, auto pilot and radios. It is not as demanding/rewarding as A2A but you will be learning.

Third, you might consider purchasing FSX on Steam. It is a much cheaper program, worth the money (I think) and will give you access to A2A aircraft. I started with the B377 and my first take off I did what I had always done: I slammed the throttle all the way forward and took off. The resulting engine fires and crash caught my attention. I had to pay attention to all the systems in the aircraft if I was going to fly A2A. Get at least one A2A plane for FSX:SE to learn what it means to have consequences (good and bad) follow your actions in the cockpit. If you get the Cessna 172 you can compare with the MSFS version. I also have the Cherokee and the B377 and the P-51 and the P-40. I love them all.