Can't gain any altitude with heavy load?

BIG, double-deck, four-engine, medium to long range, high altitude, high speed, commercial transport airplane
Kalnon
Airman First Class

Can't gain any altitude with heavy load?

Post by Kalnon »

I'm new to flying the B377, I've only flown it a few times so far. The last time I tried flying it, I used the heavy pax and cargo preset to fully load the plane. I reduced the amount of fuel in the plane to make sure it was under MTOW but for some reason I can't gain any altitude, like the plane is overloaded. After take off, I slowly climb to a few thousand feet in the air and it gets to a point where it just won't climb any more and if I try, the plane will stall, even with the throttles maxed out. As I said, the weight was under MTOW but not by a lot. Do I have to reduce the weight some more or am I doing something wrong?

TreeTops
Master Sergeant

Re: Can't gain any altitude with heavy load?

Post by TreeTops »

Flying the B377 at max weight is like playing a game at highest difficulty; you really need to be able to coax everything out of the engines and use all of the Captain's knowledge of this plane to climb.
After liftoff and gear is retracted, reduce power to 50" MP and 2550 RPM. do not climb at anything more than 500 fpm until the flaps are retracted and the speed is over 170 knots.
Once you have reached this step you might be able to slightly increase your climb rate to between 500 and 1000 fpm, but do not let the speed drop below 170 knots.
To make all this happen, you will need to put the autopilot on and set it to climb at 500 fpm so you can devote all of your attention to the engines.
You will need to be very familiar with the take off procedure from the manual. A2A B337 Pilots_Manual_For_COTS.pdf pg91 and 94.
Are you switching the turbo override switches from Takeoff to Climb and Cruise?