I want to understand altimetry - Part 1

Find or share aviation knowledge
new reply
Simicro
Senior Airman

I want to understand altimetry - Part 1

Post by Simicro »

Hi all,

I've been flightsimming for 25 years and I confess that I've not quite understood altimetry.

I did some trials but I'm not good at maths and was probably lazy to persevere. So I ended up doing some fancy flying...
Of course I am aware that altimery is one of the most important things in aviation.
Recently I decided to re-start flightsimming from the ground up and re-learn the basics.
I've never talked about this on forums, but I feel in confidence on this A2A forum.
Probably because it is calm, friendly, not overcrowded however I can feel that there are a lot of knowledgeable people.

My goal is not to learn the full theory of altimetry. Instead I aim at understanding what I need to do, how, and why. What I plan to do is:
- Make some readings on the internet
- Take abstracted notes
- Take a few situations and say what I would do and share it with you, so that you can comment
- For clarity and legibility I'll create a thread for each situation (rest assured, there will no more than 5-6 situations I believe)

I would be most grateful if you could help me to achieve my goal.

Situation 1: Local flight with no pressure change

1. In all the following I will use QNH
2. I am the first guy to fly the plane on the day
3. When I board the plane, the altimeter reads 600ft (state of the plane left by a guy who flew the plane the day before)
4. I start the engine, listen to ATIS or contact the tower, and take note of the pressure, say 30 InHg
5. I set the altimeter to 30 InHg ==> Question: without reading the altimeter, is it possible to calculate/anticipate the altitude it will display?
6. Now I take a fictitious example because I do not know what the altimeter should read. Let's say 700 ft
7. ===> Question: if I read the QNH altitude of the airport on an aviation map, it would be 700 ft?