Commanche: engine damage

Find or share aviation knowledge
new reply
kranck007
Airman Basic

Commanche: engine damage

Post by kranck007 »

Hello all,

I am a beginner, at least as far as non-simplified GA aircrafts are concerned. In my A2A Commanche I’ve got a problem, and maybe I would get it with other A2A aircrafts too:

Starting the engine, all is ok, but after some minutes the power goes back more and more. The idle power remains the same, but the full power gets lost. As if to move the throttle only to its half, but the Joystick input obviously is ok and the throttle in the virtual cockpit works well. At the end moving the throttle don’t show any reaction.

I can fix this by reset or overhaul the engine but a few minutes late the trouble starts again. Only by option “damage off” I can avoid this effect and fly without problems. So problem solved, but I in fact don’t want the engine to ignore damages, I better want me to avoid damages.

Watching tutorial videos, reading the manual, playing around with mixture or RPM all didn’t help. Maybe I got a helpful advice here.

Thanks and sorry for poor English.

Norbert

Nick - A2A
A2A Captain

Re: Commanche: engine damage

Post by Nick - A2A »

Hello Norbert - welcome to the A2A forums.

What you're describing sounds very much like the carburettor icing simulation within Accu-Sim. This is particularly likely if there was some visible precipitation or other simulated moisture in the air (e.g. clouds or fog).

For more info on this phenomenon, please see this article or at least take a look at the chart: Melting Moments: Understanding Carburettor Icing. The article uses quite a nice analogy to make the point that warmer air is able to hold more moisture than cooler air.

The 'fix' for carb icing is to use the carb heat selector on the panel. By default, it can be operated using the 'H' key.

Thanks,
Nick

kranck007
Airman Basic

Post by kranck007 »

Hi Nick,