Too sensitive while take-off and landing

Find or share aviation knowledge
new reply
kranck007
Airman Basic

Too sensitive while take-off and landing

Post by kranck007 »

I have a problem with, in particular, single-engine, light GA airplanes, I need your help. I already have many years of experience in flight simulation and fly large jets relatively easily. In reality, I have no flight experience whatsoever. The take-off is particularly problematic, but also the landing. When flying manually in the air, the planes are very sensitive, but still controllable. But obviously they behave completely differently on the ground than in the air, and this leads to the fact that they change their direction considerably immediately after taking off and immediately after touching down and thus become uncontrollable.

Immediately after take-off, the plane pulls completely to the left or right, so that, even if you expect it, you can hardly counter-steer. After touching down, the machine breaks away too, so badly that you can hardly counter-steer, or you react too strongly, which then results in a slalom ride.

It seems plausible to assume that the nose wheel may not be pointing straight ahead. But I don't know if and how you can steer the nose wheel. In addition, the machine goes straight ahead when taxi.

I switched off the wind, it is not the cause. The forces of the rotating propeller could be the cause, but they seem way too strong to me. You can't fly like that, and I don't think you can learn it by training.

Overall, the controls seem very sensitive to me, although a less sensitive calibration of the joystick doesn't help either. Yes, I fly with a joystick, and I also thought that maybe a yoke is better. In YouTube videos I see pilots controlling the yoke quite rough, while with my joystick even the smallest movements give a strong reaction. I'm afraid that if I buy an expensive yoke, it will be just as sensitive as the joystick, so that would not help me.