Getting desperate now.

Forever, Britain's most cherished Crown Jewel
User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5785
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Killratio »

Possibly that horrible, long snouted, Griffon engined Non-Spitfire :lol: :lol: :lol:
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

Dogsbody55
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1737
Joined: 26 Aug 2013
Location: Perth, W. Aust

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Dogsbody55 »

Killratio wrote:Possibly that horrible, long snouted, Griffon engined Non-Spitfire :lol: :lol: :lol:
And the plane looks like it was drawn by someone of my low artistic talents :D


Cheers,
Mike
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

Lovely flight today. All I need now is my beloved back. :(

Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

What with the problems with 4.1, I reckon it's going to take a while to sort out so, back to v3.x it is then.

Image

Happiness... :)

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5785
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Killratio »

:)


(Nice paint!)
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

Killratio wrote::)


(Nice paint!)
Thanks for that but it's no good. Anyone with a half decent Hi-Fi knows, that there is no going back when you've had the taste of something better. The Spit is fine, but the visuals, horizon to horizon ground detail is far better in v4. So for now, I'll just make do with other models.

Here's me (who else would it be) in the Mk IV. Wonder why six cannon never caught on? Probably something to do with too much stress on the wing.

Image

Cheers.
Steve.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

Well hot damn. I got it. Everything seems to be working in 4.1. :mrgreen:

Image

Image

The caveat being, is that another live update may break it. So I will hold off on that, until I can get my hands on the official Spitfire sim. But if I have to start from scratch, then so be it. :lol:

Steve

An edit, just to add damn, she looks more beautiful than ever.
Last edited by bladerunner900 on 17 Oct 2017, 11:51, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5785
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Killratio »

<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »


User avatar
Ron Attwood
Chief Master Sergeant
Posts: 2717
Joined: 30 Nov 2010
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Ron Attwood »

Is that the Accu-Simmed Spitfire or the bog standard Spitfire?
------------------------------------
Image
------------------------------------

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5785
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Killratio »

Steve,

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Patience young Grasshopper!
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

Ron Attwood wrote:Is that the Accu-Simmed Spitfire or the bog standard Spitfire?
It seems to be fully Accu-Simed sir. All animations and sounds in cockpit. Canopy, landing gear, switches etc., even the cooling down sounds. :)
Killratio wrote:Steve,

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Patience young Grasshopper!
Are you trying to tell me something perhaps :wink:

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

For what it's worth, this is how I installed it.

First, I applied the 10-12-17 patch to 4.1, then I installed the Spitfire and it's Accu-Sim package into a folder, which just had the FSX.exe inside.

I then applied the 04-13-17 update to the dummy folder, after which...

...I moved the folders A2A, Effects, Fonts and SimObjects, out of the dummy folder and into the A2A folder that resides in my Prepar3D v4 Add-ons folder.

That's all I did. The Effects, Fonts and SimObjects folders are already assigned in the existing add-on.xml file, so there was no need to alter any of that.

What may or may not be significant, is that I did not let any file get over-written, like the files in the Shared folder for example.

For now, I won't be updating either P3D or any A2A products any further, in case I break something. I'll just wait for the native 4.1 version of the Spit. to become available first.

So, I have my baby back, after months of absence and it's not been easy I can tell you. :lol:

'Young Grasshopper', signing off, for now. :wink:

Oh! It goes without saying, that I made a backup of Prepar3D v4 Add-ons\A2A first, of course.
Last edited by bladerunner900 on 29 Apr 2019, 12:40, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1974
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post bladerunner900 »

How cool would it be if in the new sim, the pilot could cast a shadow also.

Image

:mrgreen:

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5785
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Getting desperate now.

Post Killratio »

Hmmmmmm....I will have to check. I'm not sure what the "qualifications" are for something to cast a shadow in V4. If it is a native thing, it may already be there.



If not, I will raise the possibility in beta...but, as always, the "features bucket" is very full with Accusim features. The problem I see is that the pilot moves, so the shadow would need to be moveable as well. Maybe that would cause extra difficulties. I am not sure if tge moving trees in V4 cast moving shadows.

D
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

new reply

Return to “Spitfire MkI/II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest