The A2A Simulations Community

"Come share your passion for flight"
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:54 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 11:53 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
Not sure if this has been covered before, but in FSX:Steam edition, is there or will there be a fix for the incorrect stats. in the Payload and Fuel Manager. As it stands, this happens after updating with the A2A_Update_05_09_16 updater. Before updating it is fine, but after updating it shows 168 gallons and a weight of 5956 lbs. Surely, that's 460 lbs heavier and 83 gallons that should not be there?

This is before updating Accu-Sim...

Image


...and this is after the A2A_Update_05_09_16 update.

Image

If this is something I can fix myself, I would be very grateful if it could be made clear to me.

Thanks.
Steve.

_________________
Image


Last edited by bladerunner900 on Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 11:58 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant

Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:48 am
Posts: 1484
Location: Oksbøl, Denmark
Early long range MkII prototype.....
That's strange.....

_________________
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS,
J3 Cub, T6, Connie, P-40, V35B


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 12:07 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
Tomas Linnet wrote:
Early long range MkII prototype.....
That's strange.....

Yes. :lol: I could have done with the extra fuel when I tried to cross from Greenland to Newfoundland the other day. Oh! I forgot to mention that this problem only affects the Mk IIa. The others are fine. :?

Cheers.
Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 10:25 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
After a bit of poking around in the Manager.xml, I think I may have found the culprit for the incorrect fuel numbers. There may be a phantom fuel tank added.
Here is an entry that I think calculates the fuel and this is what it reads, just after installing the Accu-Sim pack that you buy from A2A.

<GaugeString>\{clr=yellow}FUEL TOTAL: \{clr=white}%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) (A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) + 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Gallons\n
Top Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
Bottom Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
</GaugeString>


After updating with the latest on-line updater, we get an extra calculation for a third fuel tank added to the mix. Here's the code with the suspect bit in yellow.

<GaugeString>\{clr=yellow}FUEL TOTAL: \{clr=white}%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) (A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) + (A:FUEL TANK CENTER3 QUANTITY,gallons) + 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Gallons\n
Top Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
Bottom Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
</GaugeString>


After removing the suspect calculation, all variants show the correct fuel quantity of 85 gallons max. Perhaps the guys at A2A did experiment with the possibility of a Slipper tank as suggested. :?:

Anyway. I will try it out with the code removed and see what happens. Currently crossing the US, east too west. A slipper tank would be really useful though.

Cheers.
Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 7:58 pm 
Offline
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Did you test to see whether the fuel in the extra tank was usable?

Something certainly seems awry anyhow. I'll put it up in beta.

cheers

Darryl

_________________
Image Image
Image
...Some say he never blinks, and that he roams around the woods at night foraging for Merlin parts...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 9:45 pm 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
Yes I did. Both tanks ran dry and showed 0 gallons each, but the FUEL TOTAL: was still showing 83 (unusable) gallons left. I was over water at the time, so I gave myself a temporary 'virtual' slipper tank of another 30 gallons to avoid ditching. :mrgreen:

Good to know it's in beta.

Thank you.
Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 7:01 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
Yay! Fixed in the new update.

Thanks guys.

:D

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 9:55 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
This fuel bug for the Mk. IIa has reappeared for the P3D version then.

Any chance of another fix guys?

Steve.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:02 am 
Offline
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:41 pm
Posts: 5282
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Referred back to beta guys. Thanks!

_________________
Image Image
Image
...Some say he never blinks, and that he roams around the woods at night foraging for Merlin parts...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:52 am 
Offline
Master Sergeant
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:59 pm
Posts: 1199
Location: Wales
Killratio wrote:
Referred back to beta guys. Thanks!
Thanks D.

As before, the same manual edits to the Manager.xml file fixes it. An official fix would be more efficient and beneficial, of course.

Steve.

:wink:

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group