Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post any technical issues here. This forum gets priority from our staff.
new reply
User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

Not sure if this has been covered before, but in FSX:Steam edition, is there or will there be a fix for the incorrect stats. in the Payload and Fuel Manager. As it stands, this happens after updating with the A2A_Update_05_09_16 updater. Before updating it is fine, but after updating it shows 168 gallons and a weight of 5956 lbs. Surely, that's 460 lbs heavier and 83 gallons that should not be there?

This is before updating Accu-Sim...

Image


...and this is after the A2A_Update_05_09_16 update.

Image

If this is something I can fix myself, I would be very grateful if it could be made clear to me.

Thanks.
Steve.
Last edited by bladerunner900 on 14 Jul 2017, 11:49, edited 1 time in total.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

Tomas Linnet
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 2004
Joined: 05 Nov 2013
Location: Oksboel, Denmark

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post Tomas Linnet »

Early long range MkII prototype.....
That's strange.....
Kind Regards
Tomas

Accu-Sim aircraft in my hangar:
C172, C182, P51 Civ, P51 Mil, B17, Spitfire, P47, B377 COTS,
J3 Cub, T6, Connie, P-40, V35B
A2A Accu-Sim Avro Lancaster Loading:............0.000001% complete, please wait.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

Tomas Linnet wrote:Early long range MkII prototype.....
That's strange.....
Yes. :lol: I could have done with the extra fuel when I tried to cross from Greenland to Newfoundland the other day. Oh! I forgot to mention that this problem only affects the Mk IIa. The others are fine. :?

Cheers.
Steve.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

After a bit of poking around in the Manager.xml, I think I may have found the culprit for the incorrect fuel numbers. There may be a phantom fuel tank added.
Here is an entry that I think calculates the fuel and this is what it reads, just after installing the Accu-Sim pack that you buy from A2A.

<GaugeString>\{clr=yellow}FUEL TOTAL: \{clr=white}%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) (A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) + 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Gallons\n
Top Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
Bottom Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
</GaugeString>


After updating with the latest on-line updater, we get an extra calculation for a third fuel tank added to the mix. Here's the code with the suspect bit in yellow.

<GaugeString>\{clr=yellow}FUEL TOTAL: \{clr=white}%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) (A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) + (A:FUEL TANK CENTER3 QUANTITY,gallons) + 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Gallons\n
Top Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
Bottom Tank: %((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 QUANTITY,gallons) 1.2 /)%!d! Imp. Galls (%((A:FUEL TANK CENTER2 LEVEL,percent))%!d!%%)\n
</GaugeString>


After removing the suspect calculation, all variants show the correct fuel quantity of 85 gallons max. Perhaps the guys at A2A did experiment with the possibility of a Slipper tank as suggested. :?:

Anyway. I will try it out with the code removed and see what happens. Currently crossing the US, east too west. A slipper tank would be really useful though.

Cheers.
Steve.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5644
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post Killratio »

Did you test to see whether the fuel in the extra tank was usable?

Something certainly seems awry anyhow. I'll put it up in beta.

cheers

Darryl
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

Yes I did. Both tanks ran dry and showed 0 gallons each, but the FUEL TOTAL: was still showing 83 (unusable) gallons left. I was over water at the time, so I gave myself a temporary 'virtual' slipper tank of another 30 gallons to avoid ditching. :mrgreen:

Good to know it's in beta.

Thank you.
Steve.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

Yay! Fixed in the new update.

Thanks guys.

:D
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

This fuel bug for the Mk. IIa has reappeared for the P3D version then.

Any chance of another fix guys?

Steve.
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

User avatar
Killratio
A2A Spitfire Crew Chief
Posts: 5644
Joined: 29 Jul 2008
Location: The South West of the large island off the north coast of Tasmania
Contact:

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post Killratio »

Referred back to beta guys. Thanks!
<Sent from my 1988 Sony Walkman with Dolby Noise Reduction and 24" earphone cord extension>


Image

User avatar
bladerunner900
Senior Master Sergeant
Posts: 1870
Joined: 17 Aug 2008
Location: South Wales

Re: Incorrect fuel and weight in Payload and Fuel Manager

Post bladerunner900 »

Killratio wrote:Referred back to beta guys. Thanks!
Thanks D.

As before, the same manual edits to the Manager.xml file fixes it. An official fix would be more efficient and beneficial, of course.

Steve.

:wink:
"Patience young Grasshopper!"
ImageImage
& all the others.

new reply

Return to “Spitfire MkI/II Tech Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests